Something different

Today’s post is something a bit different from what I’ve done so far.

I enjoy doodling and drawing as a past time and generally use the natural world as my inspiration. Four or five years ago in a Biology A-level lesson I started drawing animals in a new style. I reduced the whole animal to a few simple lines of various thickness. My depicting the outline and key features of an animal I hope to catch the essence of the animal without getting bogged down too much in detail.

A hare - One of my original one from biology lessons
A hare – One of my original one from biology lessons

Over the years I’ve drawn a wide range of animals in this style but they’ve all been drawn in black and white. After drawing a Greater Spotted Woodpecker this week I decided to try something a little different and add some colour.

The original drawing
The original drawing

This meant fishing out my paints which have been feeling abandoned in the back of the arts and craft cupboard and finding my sketchpad I use for watercolours as it’s thicker paper. I also found a few paintings I’d completely forgotten I’d done!

I actually really like this slightly softer appearance of drawing this out in pencil
I actually really like this slightly softer appearance of drawing this out in pencil
Paints at the ready
Paints at the ready

I did a quick background in watercolours then left it out to dry in the garden.

The finished background
The background

Once the background was dry it was time to start adding colour to the picture. I wasn’t really sure how this would work out as I couldn’t really imagine how it would look in colours. I decided to do it with the woodpecker as there’s a few different colours in it’s plumage that are pretty bold and I thought that that would work better than something like the hare, which would all be one colour.

The finished product
The finished product

I really like how it turned out. The background being fairly plain doesn’t distract the eye too much from the actual bird and the colours all turned out well. I may play around with this a little more and try it with a few other pictures. I drew a goldfinch yesterday and I think that could look quite striking in colour, especially it’s head and yellow on the wings.

Beth x

Leave a Reply

