Way past the halfway mark! In fact three quarters of the way there!

I’ve been putting off and putting off writing a post because I’ve had so much to write about, which has just made the situation worse and worse. In an attempt to combat that here’s a very brief look at some of what I’ve been up to over the last 3 months!

January:

  • Claire and I had our first go at Hedgelaying with the Magnificent Meadows volunteers.
Receiving instruction with the Magnificent Meadows volunteers
Receiving instruction with the Magnificent Meadows volunteers
Feeling proud of our section of hedge
Feeling proud of our section of hedge
Finished!
Finished!
  • I’ve been improving my skills at dry stone walling. I think I’ve found the knack for it now I’ve realised that the perfect shaped stone does not exist!
This was interesting with the cemented cap still in place!
This was interesting with the cemented cap still in place!
20150109_104101
Not a helpful cow!
  • Discovered how beautiful Mendip looks in the snow
Yoxter looking beautiful!
Yoxter looking beautiful!
Of course we built a snowman
Of course we built a snowman
  • Spent time with the rest of the Wildlife Skills Trainees on our Wiltshire Residential (more details here)

10945374_10206007043317980_2487636708029754500_n

  • Did some soil sampling in the snow and rain
  • Cleared trees off fence lines ready for them to be replaced
  • Collected random objects for the education team
Pellets from the Barn Owl at the farm
Pellets from the Barn Owl at the farm
  • Started checking on these three beauties on a regular basis
My ponies :)
My ponies πŸ™‚
  • Saw my first snowdrops of the year

20150224_135004

February

  • More hedge laying this time with the East Mendip Conservation volunteers
Not a bad way to spend a Sunday
Not a bad way to spend a Sunday
  • Passed my 4×4 course with Olivia
Ooops!
Ooops!
We passed though!
We passed though!
  • Discovered that there is such a thing as Frost Flowers
This is frozen sap. How amazing is that!
This is frozen sap. How amazing is that!
  • Planted trees – made a nice change from cutting them down!
Volunteers busy planting trees
Volunteers busy planting trees
  • Completed my pesticide training
  • Learnt how to put in a kissing gate with the Magnificent Meadows volunteers
Mendip is not the easiest place to dig a hole
Mendip is not the easiest place to dig a hole
Adding the finishing touches
Adding the finishing touches
  • Attended a Deadling with Aggression and Conflict in the Workplace Course
  • Fell in love with the views on Mendip just a little bit more
I will miss this place when I have to leave
I will miss this place when I have to leave
  • Did our final bit of scrub clearing of the winter!!

March

  • Spent a day with the Somerset Otter Group learning how to find signs of otters and I finally got to smell Otter spraint!
Mink and otter poo for comparison
Mink and otter poo for comparison
Having a good whiff
Having a good whiff
  • Went to Dorset to the day to join the other trainees for some Personal Effectiveness Training
Playing with pipe cleaners is apparently acceptable in meetings and training - works for me :)
Playing with pipe cleaners is apparently acceptable in meetings and training – works for me πŸ™‚
  • Burnt up some brash with volunteers from the Navy

20150309_132911

 

  • Saw my first frog of the year
I'm not quite sure where this little guy was heading as there was no water nearby
I’m not quite sure where this little guy was heading as there was no water nearby
  • Appeared in the magazine again

  • Had a trainee day that involved Booming Bitterns, nearly setting a reserve on fire and a group of school children (can read about that here)
  • Learnt something about grasses on a Grassland Plant ID day
Knew buying a hand lens would come in useful
Knew buying a hand lens would come in useful
Other members of staff looking for things to identify
Other members of staff looking for things to identify
  • Got ridiculously excited about my first butterfly of the year outside the office
Yeyyyy :D
Yeyyyy πŸ˜€
  • Realised that I do remember some of the flower species that I learnt last year
  • Passed my Pesticide Assessment
Who you gonna call?
Who you gonna call?

 

It has been a rather busy few months but I am still loving my time as a trainee. We’ve pretty much finished all the winter works now and spring is definitely in the air! The woodland reserves are really coming to life, with carpets of Ransoms, Wild Daffodils and Dog’s Mercury and the mornings at the farm are a lot warmer! It’s not long at all until the other Trainees come to Somerset for our final residential, and we embark on the last few months of this traineeship. As sad as that thought of leaving is, I can keep my head up as there is still plenty to look forward to over the next few months!

Beth πŸ™‚

One thought on “Way past the halfway mark! In fact three quarters of the way there!

Leave a Reply

