Day 18 – Going Wild at Alton Towers

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_18

My little brother recently turned 13 so to celebrate the family headed to Alton Towers.

I get extremely itchy fingers at the park now due to the vast walls of Rhododendron and Himalayan Balsam that run riot in the grounds – yet a few years ago I didn’t even know what they were! I did get warned that getting into practical conservation would mean I would never look at a green space the same way again. Luckily I can eventually switch off my work brain and enjoy myself.

Despite the hordes of people there are plenty of trees and habitat for birds. Matt is instinctively tuned into birds and will just call them out as we walk along without even losing track of the conversation. Alongside your common ‘garden birds’ such as Dunnock, Blackbird, Chaffinch, Great Tit etc we had singing Chiffchaff’s and my dad attempted to string a Heron into a Crane. I even managed to not tell off my brother and sister for feeding the ducks bread as at least they were engaging with wildlife!

Stay wild!

Leave a Reply

